My good intentions

Is it possible to keep the New Years resolutions?

Jens takes a pen and a piece of paper and writes down all his bad habits and mistakes.

Determined he adds: This time I will stick to them!

January 1st – „All goes very well: I spent all day thinking about my resolutions“

January 2nd – A lot as going on in school; in one of my conversations a few words slipped my mouth that I didn’t want to use any longer – but it was by accident“

January 3rd – „…today wasn’t as good. I subconciously lied to my best friend and hurt him by doing so.“

January 4th – „I’m too busy today to think about New Years resolutions…“

January 10th – „Resolutions? For what…? I’m not THAT bad!“

Many of us have made that experience before. Ony few days after having made resolutions we notice that it is very difficult keeping them and changing our habits. So we come to the dicision, that we are not THAT bad after all and that we don’t need to change after all. It sems an integral part of human nature to enhance one’s SELF but to fail again and again.

The Bible says: „Although you wash yourself with soap and use an abundance of cleansing powder, the stain of your guilt is still before me,’ declares the Sovereign Lord. (Jeremia 2:22)

And more so: „Who can understand it (the heart)? ‘I the Lord search the heart and examine the mind, …“ (Jeremia 17:9b-10a)

Most people like starting anew when they discover their faults, however we tend to look at the wrong person when doing so. As everyone only looks at themselves. We try to enhance our old sinful nature and fail at it. Even God says that we’ll fail if we try it purely out of our own strength. However God has another way of starting us off on a change. God not only enables a new start; HE erases all our sins of the past.

“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: the old has gone, the new is here!“(2.Corinthians 5:17)

This year, you can accept Jesus Christ as your personal Lord and Saviour, taste the joy of forgiveness and have confirmation of eternal life.

Allow yourself to be lead by the Word of God, speak with God constantly through prayer, remain in the fellowship of brethren and a congregation. This way, the course gets set correctly to experience changes and victories in 2012. Instead of YOU deciding on the resolutions every year, you will look back at the point in history when God gave you new life and a hope for a new starting point.

In John 6:37, Jesus says: “All whom the Father gives me will come to me, and whoever comes to me I will never drive away.“(C.H.Dennis)

God bless your new start!

3 responses to “My good intentions

  1. Dankie… dis so waar, en ‘n les wat ons almal moet leer.

  2. Wow! Wow! This is true!!!!!

Leave a Reply

